About Your Council

Salisbury City Council was established in April 2009 following local government reorganisation and is based at The Guildhall in Salisbury’s historic Market Place.

The Council has 24 elected Councillors that are democratically elected every four years. The Councillors represent 8 wards within the City as follows:

WardNo. of Councillors
Bemerton Heath  - 3 Councillors
Fisherton & Bemerton Village  - 3 Councillors
Harnham East - 3 Councillors
Harnham West  - 3 Councillors
Milford - 3 Councillors
St. Edmunds - 3 Councillors
St. Francis & Stratford - 3 Councillors
St. Pauls - 3 Councillors

The Council makes decisions and this is achieved through standing Committees these are:

Full Council
Finance and Governance
Community Services
Environment and Climate
Planning and Development
Events, Markets and Grants Sub-Committee
Personnel Committee

The Council is chaired by the Right Worshipful the Mayor of the City of Salisbury. The Mayor is elected yearly from the current Councillors in an order of precedence depending on the number of years as an elected Salisbury City Councillor.

The Council is funded by the City residents through a precept which is collected as part of the annual Council Tax. Others funds are generated through various services.

Supporting the Councillors are 60 members of staff, led by the City Clerk.

Please view the Council's plans here

For details of the Salisbury City Council ward boundaries please click here