Our Competitions

Competitions 2022

On the evening of the 4th October Salisbury City Council hosted the awards ceremony celebrating the 2022 Scarecrow, Gardens and Allotments Competition. The event took place in the Banqueting Hall of the Guildhall and certificates were presented by the Mayor of Salisbury, Councillor Tom Corbin. Awards were as follows:

Scarecrow Competition

Bronze Awards:
Mrs Drake

Silver Awards
Richard Shaw
The Early Intervention Service
Chris and Pam Christian

Gold Awards
Salisbury Garden Volunteers
8th Salisbury Scouts, Cubs and Beavers
Carole Day and Brenda Burke
Chris and Pam Christian

8th Salisbury Scouts Cubs and Beavers Gold Award in Scarecrow Compeition Chris and Pam Christian Gold Award in Scarecrow Competition

Garden Competition

Silver Awards
Mrs Drake
Bricketts Hospital and Robert Stokes Almshouses
Eyre House Communal Garden
Silver Gilt Awards
Keith and Kathy Lawrence

Gold Awards
Maplecroft Communal Garden
Salisbury Garden Volunteers
John Reardon
Rama’s Garden (8th Salisbury Scouts, Cubs and Beavers)

The Parks Department would like to thank Jacqui Neale of Daisy Chain Garden Services for helping to judge the Garden Competition

Maplecroft Community Garden Gold Award in Garden Competition Bourne Hill Gold Award in Garden Competition

Allotment Competition – Best Newcomers (nominated by the site wardens)

Margaret Crowther – Coldharbour Lane
Trevor and Sue Gollins – Cow Lane
Vanessa Batchelor – Fisherton Farm D
Jon and Kate Everett – London Road
Paul Sparrow – Stratford Road
Jessica Waters – Warres Acres
Blair Kantolinna – Tunnel
Ami Grinstead and Josh Kerley – Fisherton Farm B
Lauren Morgan – Fisherton Farm A

Allotment Competition

Bronze Awards
Mr Jon Allnut – Cow Lane 25A/26
Colin Whatley – Stratford Road 34/35
Giorgio Occipinti – Butts 26A/45
Maureen Spear – Butts 33B
Tina West – Butts 40/48
8th Salisbury Scouts, Cubs and Beavers – Tunnel 20A
Mr John Toon – Warres Acres 5
Mrs Yvonne Toon – Warres Acres 24

Silver Awards
Debbie Neale – Fisherton A 51
Chris and Pam Christian – Coldharbour 15B
Christine Pape – Stratford Road 28/30A/33

Gold Awards
Stephen and Carole Day – Tunnel 28
Mrs Mary Reardon – Tunnel 38
Francis Bray – Coldharbour 7
Richard Shaw – Warres Acres $B

Allotment Competition – Overall Winner

Stephen and Carole Day – Tunnel 28


Competitions 2021

We were delighted to be able to run a simplified version of the Scarecrow, Garden and Allotment Competitions in 2021. Although scaled back, an awards ceremony was held in the Guildhall to celebrate the winners.

Scarecrow Competition (judged by the Mayor):

1st – Diane Youngman
2nd – Carole Day
3rd – Richard Edward Shaw

Daisy 1 Day richandjac 1

Gardens Competition (all awarded Silver Gilt):

Diane Youngman
John Reardon
Jo and Chris Selley
Robert Stokes and Bricketts Hospital Almshouses

Diane 5 reardon 8

Allotment Competition:

Best Newcomer (nominated by The Wardens):

Diane Youngman (Tunnel)
Chris and Cathy Goddard (Stratford Road)
Lauren Morgan (Fisherton A)
Steve Shepherd (Fisherton A)
John Coakley (The Butts)
Emma Pearce (Cow Lane)
Frank Harrison (London Road)

Bronze Awards:

Robert Hope (Tunnel)
James Haggaty (Fisherton Farm C)
Yvonne Toon (Wares Acre)

Silver Awards:

Colin Whatley (Stratford Road)
Chris and Pam Christian (Coldharbour Lane)
John Toon (Warres Acre)
Nigel Ansty (Fisherton Farm C)
Mr M Sartin (Coldharbour Lane)

Gold Awards:

Stephen and Carole Day (Tunnel)
Debbie Neale (Fisherton Farm A)
Richard Edward Shaw (Warres Acres)
Mary Reardon (Tunnel)
David Shearing and Amanda White (Butts)
Tony Oke (Warres Acres)
Terence White (Butts)
Diane Youngman (Tunnel)
Christine Pape (Stratford Road)

Overall Winner – Stephen and Carole Day (Tunnel)